The Timeline Section

The Timeline Section is a key component of the SignageStudio. You’ll use a Timeline to set up your entire Presentation. In a Timeline you will:

– Drag your Scenes, Components, or Resources
– Define which Component will play in your Presentation
– How long it will play in your Presentation- Where it will play in your Presentation

After you created a Campaign, a new Timeline was automatically created. The Timeline is located by default in the middle of the user interface next to the main Navigation menu.

pic267

A Timeline is comprised of several tools including:

– 1. Toolbar
– 2. Output
– 3. Channels
– 4. Time Markers
– 5. Scale Feature

In the top left area of the Timeline section, you’ll see a toolbar containing several icons

pic268

 

The Add icon is used to ADD Channels to a Timeline. Channels allow you to embed resources within them and then assign them to Screen Divisions. A region or division of a Screen can have only one Chanel assigned to it, but you can assign the same Channel to multiple Screen Divisions if you wish to have the same content play multiple times.

The Duplicate channel icon is used to duplicate a certain Channel. To duplicate a Channel, you must select it and then click on the Duplicate Channel icon. After you click on the Duplicate Channel icon, a dialog box appears on your Screen. You can choose YES to duplicate the Channel or NO to CANCEL the operation. If you click YES, a new identical channel appears in the Timeline.

The Delete icon is used to DELETE Channels from a Timeline, and any Output template Component, Resource, or Scene you previously added to the Timeline. To delete something from a Timeline you select it and click on the Delete icon. After you’ve clicked on the Delete icon, a dialog box appears on your Screen. You can click YES to delete the selected component, or click NO the cancel the operation.

The Remove Spacing icon is used to remove the spacing between the Resources, Components, or Scenes added to a particular Channel. You can manually drag a component added to a Timeline using the mouse, but clicking on the Remove Spacing icon will do the same thing (and will save time).
pic276To remove the spacing between the components we added to the Timeline, you must click either on the Chanel’s name, or on any of the Components residing in the respective channel followed by clicking on the Remove Spacing button.

pic278

You’ll use the Edit Player icon to access the Properties panel of a particular Component, Resource, or Scene you previously added to a Timeline. As an alternative to the use of the Edit Player option, you can also double click on a Component and access its properties panel to apply different settings to it.

Want to find out more?

Come by our showroom to immerse yourself in the latest digital technology.